Transportation Division Industry Transportation Division Industry

Journal Content Journal Content



The Vehicle Division was established in 1960 under the Rural Industry Development Authority, known as RIDA. The purpose of the division was to provide transportation services to residents in rural areas, especially for the FELDA settlers and help bumiputera get involved in the transportation industry. At that time, the division was known as the RIDA Motor Vehicle and the transport services carried out by this division was known as the RIDA Bus.

When RIDA was dissolved and replaced officially by the Council of Trust for Indigenous People (MARA) on March 1, 1966, the Vehicle Division was placed under the administration called MARA Transportation Division. Consistent with that, the name RIDA Bus changed to MARA Bus and later was called MARA Bus Transport (KBM).


Ensure that bus travel follows the timetable 100 percent.
Developing human resources by attending a courses / training programmes at least once in 2 years.
Ensure buses are sent for maintenance in accordance to certain number of kilometers



We are committed in giving the best public bus service to the people in specific routes and according to the schedules shown.

We also ensure that:

  • Every passenger gets a ticket according to the price set after paying the fare
  • Every complaint will be dealt with within three working days.
  • All buses are inspected everyday before and after operations.
  • At least 2 extra bus services will be provided on certain routes during festive seasons according to the demand.
  • Every payment to the supplier will be settled within 30 days upon receiving the invoice.
  • All buses will be cleaned everyday after operations.
  • MARA Liner Bus will adhere to the speed limit.

To-date, KBM has 16 projects which give transportation (bus) services. The main activitites of these projects are express buses and chartered services, normal bus services and repair and maintenance workshops.

On 24 September 2005, the rebranding ceremony of Projek Kenderaan Bas MARA (KBM) to MARA Liner took place in Kota Tinggi, Johor. This project was divided into two (2) administrations, ie. The Northern Zone in Mergong, Kedah and the Central Zone at the Transportaion Divison, Level 6 MARA Building.

List of projects are as follows:

Northern Zone Central Zone
1. Projek ML Alor Setar
2. Projek ML Kuala Nerang
3. Projek ML Serdang
4. Projek ML Kangar
5. Projek ML Sik
6. Projek ML Yan
7. Projek ML Langkawi

1. Projek ML Bandar Tun Razak
2. Projek ML Chini
3. Projek ML Lurah Bilut
4. Projek ML Muadzam Shah
5. Projek ML Raub
6. Projek ML Tanjung Malim
7. Projek ML Teluk Intan
8. Projek ML Alor Gajah
9. Projek ML Bandar Penawar

Meanwhile, 3 Operational Centres for MARA Liner Express was set up in 3 Zones, namely:

  1. Central Zone : MARA Liner Express Operational Office in Sungai Besi
  2. Eastern Zone : MARA Liner Express Operational Office in Kuantan
  3. Northern Zone : MARA Liner Express Operational Office in Shahab Perdana, Alor Setar, Kedah